Shallow Graves

Author(s): Kali Wallace

Young Adult Fiction

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters-human and otherwise-lurk at the fringes. "Shallow Graves is a stunner. Gripping, gory, and insightful" (Kendare Blake, New York Times bestselling author of Three Dark Crowns).When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn't remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she's somehow conscious-and not only that, she's able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to discover whatever is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs-where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.NYPL Best Books for Teens * Junior Library Guild Selection

$20.00(NZD) RRP $19.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"A fast-paced story with an interesting hook, and a thoughtful look at what it means to be human versus what it means to be a monster. The end result is a superbly crafted debut bound to entrance." -- Booklist (starred review) "Kali Wallace has created a world that's both natural and unsettling ...and reminds us with Breezy's story that true terror is not a monster, but what lurks in the dark corners of human nature." -- Madeleine Roux, New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series. "Shallow Graves is a stunner. Gripping, gory, and insightful." -- Kendare Blake, author of Anna Dressed in Blood and Antigoddess "Constantly entertaining, intriguing, and suspenseful." -- Kirkus "A fast-paced ride through a dark, imaginative world." -- Mindy McGinnis, author of Not a Drop to Drink and A Madness So Discreet "A phenomenally written, spine-chilling story...sure to keep you up all night." -- Kimberly Derting, author of the Body Finder series "Writing in Breezy's pragmatic and engaging voice, Wallace weaves an unsettling tale that explores Breezy's strange existence, while also thoughtfully examining a life cut short...her struggle to reconcile what she has become with the human she used to be forms the heart of this bittersweet story." -- Publishers Weekly

Kali Wallace, for most of her life, was going to be a scientist when she grew up. She studied geology in college, partly because she could get course credit for hiking and camping, and eventually earned a PhD in geophysics researching earthquakes in India and the Himalayas. Only after she had her shiny new doctorate in hand did she admit that she loved inventing imaginary worlds as much as she liked exploring the real one. She's from Colorado but now lives in Southern California. You can find her at www.kaliwallace.com and on Twitter @kaliphyte.

General Fields

  • : 9780062366214
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • : Katherine Tegen Books
  • : September 2017
  • : 203mm X 135mm X 22mm
  • : United States
  • : December 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 813.6
  • : 384
  • : Kali Wallace
  • : Paperback