Holidays in Heck

Author(s): P.J. O'Rourke

Travel Literature

The long-awaited follow up to the classic Holidays in Hell, P.J. O'Rourke's Holidays in Heck is the middle-aged version of his classic travel pieces, featuring journeys to China, Venice, the UK and beyond. Holidays in Heck takes the reader on a globe-trotting journey to far-reaching places including China, Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan and the Galapagos Islands. The collection begins after the Iraq War, when P.J. retired from being a war correspondent because he was "too old to keep being scared stiff and too stiff to keep sleeping on the ground." Instead he embarked on supposedly more comfortable and allegedly less dangerous travels - often with family in tow - which mostly left him wishing he were under artillery fire again. The result is a hilarious and oftentimes moving portrait of life in the fast lane - only this time as a husband and father of three. Adventures of this title include: the first stag hunt in Britain after hunting had been banned. '"If the British had been half as caring about Indians and American colonists as they are about animals, they'd still rule the world." There is a month-long tour of mainland China's economic hubs where P.J. learned "that the entire Chinese concept of political freedom and individual liberty can be summed up in the words, 'New Buick'." This title also includes a harrowing horseback ride across the mountains of Kyrgyzstan - no towns, no roads and no people. "If something happened to my horse it would be shot. For me, the medical treatment wouldn't be that sophisticated."


This title is for fans of Bill Bryson, Tony Hawks, Michael Palin and Dave Gorman.

$37.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

P.J. O'Rourke is the author of 13 books, including Parliament of Whores and Give War a Chance, both of which were No. 1 New York Times bestsellers. His most recent book is Don't Vote!

General Fields

  • : 9781611855968
  • : Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press
  • : Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press
  • : September 2011
  • : 234mm X 156mm
  • : United States
  • : December 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : P.J. O'Rourke
  • : Paperback
  • : Export ed
  • : 288