Meditations Hays transl.

Author(s): Marcus Aurelius

Special Order

A translation of one of the most important texts of Western philosophy.

Few ancient works have been as influential as the MEDITATIONS of Marcus Aurelius. A series of spiritual exercises filled with wisdom, practical guidance, and profound understanding of human behaviour, it remains one of the greatest works of spiritual and ethical reflection ever written. Marcus's insights and advice - on everything from living in the world to coping with adversity and interacting with others - have made the MEDITATIONS required reading for statesmen and philosophers alike, while generations of ordinary readers have responded to the straightforward intimacy of his style.

In Gregory Hays's new translation - the first in thirty-five years - Marcus's thoughts speak with a new immediacy. In fresh and unencumbered English, Hays vividly conveys the spareness and compression of the original Greek text. Never before have Marcus's insights been so directly and powerfully presented.

$23.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

The first new translation in 35 years Contains wisdom that has been tested over 2000 years - one of the greatest works of spiritual and ethical reflection ever written The favourite book of Frederick the Great, Pope, Goethe and President Clinton For fans of A.C. Grayling and Alain de Botton - people who want philosophy to be accessible and to help them in their lives 'The Meditations are an "unassailable wintry kingdom". But in the desert of 2003, their icy blasts are refreshing and restorative. They tell you the worst. And having heard the worst, you feel less bad' Blake Morrison, Guardian

"An ancient work of spiritual reflection from the Roman emperor, which remains a powerful reminder of how we could live a more dignified life by avoiding deceit, vanity and greed." OK! MAGAZINE - HOT STARS SUPPLEMENT "Meditations is unaffected by time and offers plenty of wisdom." IRISH EXAMINER

Marcus Aurelius reigned from 161 AD to 180 AD- perhaps the only true philosopher- king in the history of the world. In his MEDITATIONS, a series of notes to himself, he formulated his pantheist Stoic beliefs with a passionate religious conviction. The MEDITATIONS were written day by day, in every situation including war. They often appear to be responses to the stress of supreme power, from the imminent fear of death in battle, to the trials of everyday life. Gregory Hays, the translator, is Assistant Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia. Gregory Hays is Assistant Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia. He has published articles and reviews on various ancient writers and is currently completing a translation and critical study of the mythographer Fulgentius.

General Fields

  • : 9780753820162
  • : phoenix
  • : phoenix
  • : April 2004
  • : 94mm X 150mm X 20mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Marcus Aurelius
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 188
  • : 200