Confessions of Marie Antoinette

Author(s): Juliet Grey

Special Order

A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, "Confessions of Marie Antoinette" blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.
Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.
Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family's rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.
Praise for Juliet Grey
"Full of sumptuous and well-researched details."--"Philadelphia Examiner" (five stars), on "Becoming Marie Antoinette"
" "
"Filled with the pageantry of the times and provides a glimpse of a lavish and intrigue-filled period in history."--"Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star, "on "Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow"
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Praise for Juliet Grey

"Full of sumptuous and well-researched details."--"Philadelphia Examiner" (five stars), on "Becoming Marie Antoinette"
" "
"Filled with the pageantry of the times and provides a glimpse of a lavish and intrigue-filled period in history."--"Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star, "on "Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow"

Juliet Grey is the author of "Becoming Marie Antoinette "and" Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow." She has extensively researched European royalty and is a particular devotee of Marie Antoinette, as well as a classically trained professional actress with numerous portrayals of virgins, vixens, and villainesses to her credit. She and her husband divide their time between New York City and Washington, D.C.

General Fields

  • : 9780345523907
  • : Ballantine Books
  • : Ballantine Books
  • : September 2013
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Juliet Grey
  • : Paperback / softback
  • : 813.6
  • : 464