Sorcerer to the Crown

Author(s): Zen Cho

Special Order

Shortlisted for the 2016 Locus First Novel Award & the British Fantasy Society Award for Best Novel and Best Newcomer THE FATE OF ENGLISH MAGIC LIES IN THEIR HANDS...In Regency London, Zacharias Wythe is England's first African Sorcerer Royal. He leads the eminent Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, but a malicious faction seeks to remove him by fair means or foul. Meanwhile, the Society is failing its vital duty - to keep stable the levels of magic within His Majesty's lands. The Fairy Court is blocking its supply, straining England's dangerously declining magical stores. And now the government is demanding to use this scarce resource in its war with France. Ambitious orphan Prunella Gentleman is desperate to escape the school where she's drudged all her life, and a visit by the beleaguered Sorcerer Royal seems the perfect opportunity. For Prunella has just stumbled upon English magic's greatest discovery in centuries - and she intends to make the most of it. At his wits' end, the last thing Zachariah needs is a female magical prodigy! But together, they might just change the nature of sorcery, in Britain and beyond.

$27.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A treat for fans of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norell and Georgette Heyer - a Regency romp with a pinch of fairyland.

Winner of British Fantasy Awards: Best Newcomer 2016.

An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises Naomi Novik A warm, funny debut novel by a brilliant new talent Charles Stross Compulsively readable and wickedly funny, this magical marriage of Jane Austen and P. G. Wodehouse delivers love, laughs, and a thoroughly modern sensibility, and will keep you reading long into the night. I loved it Lavie Tidhar Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susannah Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this Ann Leckie A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it Kate Elliott An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises Naomi Novik A warm, funny debut novel by a brilliant new talent Charles Stross Compulsively readable and wickedly funny, this magical marriage of Jane Austen and P. G. Wodehouse delivers love, laughs, and a thoroughly modern sensibility, and will keep you reading long into the night. I loved it Lavie Tidhar Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susannah Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this Ann Leckie A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it Kate Elliott

Zen Cho was born and raised in Malaysia and now lives in London. She was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer for her short fiction and recently won the Crawford Award. Sorcerer to the Crown is Zen Cho's debut novel.

General Fields

  • : 9781447299462
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Pan Books
  • : 0.277
  • : July 2016
  • : 197mm X 130mm X 24mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Zen Cho
  • : Paperback
  • : Main Market Ed.
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 416