Nightlights

Author(s): Lorena Gomez; Lorena Alvarez (Illustrator)

Sophisticated Picture Books

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTIONEvery night, tiny stars appear out of the darkness in little Sandy's bedroom. She catches them and creates wonderful creatures to play with until she falls asleep, and in the morning brings them back to life in the whimsical drawings that cover her room.One day, Morpie, a mysterious pale girl, appears at school. And she knows all about Sandy's drawings..Nightlights is a beautiful story about fear, insecurity, and creativity, from the enchanting imagination of Lorena Alvarez.


Product Information

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION Readers will cheer [...] The beings that inhabit Sandy's nighttime world are simply delightful. The album size, cloth spine binding, and spot gloss on the cover are the icing on the cake of this beautiful graphic novel.--Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW Colombian illustrator Alvarez has achieved something special and unforgettable with her first authorial outing.--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW [...] Alvarez's stunning, Miyazaki-like illustrations are jaw-dropping. [...] the sumptuous artwork, from the velvety palette to the invitingly rounded figures, is a pleasure to age at. Let's hope there's more where this came from.--Booklist Nightlights is scary, strange and wondrous stuff, its terror heightened by its luminous, polychromatic beauty.--The Guardian A sumptuously coloured, beautifully presented metaphor for the triumph of creativity and imagination in overcoming darkness and despair.--Broken Frontier Nightlights is a stunning, richly-detailed ode to the power of creativity to triumph over loneliness and self-doubt. With gorgeous illustrations that evoke the fantastic imagination of Miyazaki, Gomez builds an enchanting story full of sylphs, school troubles, and one adorable, pigtailed heroine. LOVE!--Hannah DeCamp, Avid Bookshop Mesmerizing, mystical, magnificent and everything I have come to expect and love from NoBrow from the epic illustrations to the definitively whimsical yet edgy story.--Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Wandering Bookseller A young artist makes friends with a ghost, but at what price? This is the perfect graphic novel for fans of Miyazaki or Neil Gaiman's Coraline. Alvarez's art is spectacular, combining lush colors with a level of detail that readers will want to revisit again and again.--Cecilia Cackley, Hooray For Books! Nightlights is a gorgeous parable by Lorena Alvarez. [...] it is absolutely beautiful.--Comics Worth Reading

Lorena Alvarez was born and raised in Bogota, Columbia. Her work is influenced by the vibrancy and color of her home town as well as the experiences and atmosphere of the Catholic school she attended as a child. She studied Graphic Design and Arts at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. She has illustrated for Puffin Books, Faber & Faber, Usborne Books, Paragon, Boom! Studios, Nickelodeon and Disney. Since 2008, she has been part of "La Procesion Puppet Club," an experimental puppetry group of illustrators and visual artists."

General Fields

  • : 9781910620137
  • : Nobrow Ltd.
  • : Nobrow Ltd
  • : January 2017
  • : 286mm X 212mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lorena Gomez; Lorena Alvarez (Illustrator)
  • : Hardback
  • : Lorena Alvarez
  • : English
  • : 741.59861
  • : 56
  • : illustrations