The Golem and the Djinni

Author(s): Helene Wecker

Sci Fi/Fantasy

THESE NEWCOMERS ARE DIFFERENT. THEY WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING. For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. 'By far my favourite book of of the year'Guardian'One of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' Barbara KingsolverChava is a golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi who dabbles in dark Kabbalistic magic. When her master, the husband who commissioned her, dies at sea on the voyage from Poland, she is unmoored and adrift as the ship arrives in New York in 1899. Ahmad is a djinni, a being of fire, born in the ancient Syrian desert. Trapped in an old copper flask by a Bedouin wizard centuries ago, he is released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop. Though he is no longer imprisoned, Ahmad is not entirely free - an unbreakable band of iron binds him to the physical world. The Golem & The Djinni is their magical, unforgettable story; unlikely friends whose tenuous attachment challenges their opposing natures - until the night a terrifying incident drives them back into their separate worlds. But a powerful threat will soon bring Chava and Ahmad together again, challenging their existence and forcing them to make a fateful choice.

$20.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
1


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'Set against the vivid backdrop of New York City's immigrant neighborhoods in the late 19th century, Helene Wecker's tale of two fabled creatures has the intimate feel of a story handed down from generation to generation' Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches 'The author makes you care enough about the humanity of these magical spirits to not only see them through to the end but also to regret that you've reached the last page' New York Times 'A magical story, beautifully and unpretentiously told. I haven't enjoyed a novel so wholeheartedly in years' Daisy Waugh 'A continuous delight - provocative, atmospheric, and superbly paced' Boston Globe 'The Golem and The Djinni are among my favourite fictional people' Washington Post 'It will be a great treat for the fans of The Night Circus. The story was so magical and romantic and I was quite sad when I finished reading. She definitely brought 19th century New York alive' Emine Nicholson, UK bookseller 'It was a fantastic read, I was hooked from the beginning and couldn't put it down. I would love to see this book as a movie, as she paints such a vivid picture of her characters. I certainly hope that there is more to come from this author' Lana Stokes, UK bookseller

Helene Wecker grew up near Chicago, and received her MFA in Creative Writing from Columbia University in New York. Her work has been published in the online magazine Joyland, and she has read from her stories at the KGB Bar in New York and the Barbershop Reading Series in San Francisco. After a dozen years of moving around between both coasts and the Midwest, she now lives near San Francisco with her husband and daughter. The Golem and the Djinni is her first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9780007480197
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • : Blue Door
  • : December 2013
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : 813.6
  • : 656
  • : Helene Wecker
  • : Paperback