Poincare's Prize : The Hundred-Year Quest to Solve One of Math's Greatest Puzzles

Author(s): George G Szpiro

Popular Science

The amazing story of one of the greatest math problems of all time and the reclusive genius who solved it In the tradition of "Fermatas Enigma" and "Prime Obsession," George Szpiro brings to life the giants of mathematics who struggled to prove a theorem for a century and the mysterious man from St. Petersburg, Grigory Perelman, who fi nally accomplished the impossible. In 1904 Henri PoincarA(c) developed the PoincarA(c) Conjecture, an attempt to understand higher-dimensional space and possibly the shape of the universe. The problem was he couldnat prove it. A century later it was named a Millennium Prize problem, one of the seven hardest problems we can imagine. Now this holy grail of mathematics has been found. Accessibly interweaving history and math, Szpiro captures the passion, frustration, and excitement of the hunt, and provides a fascinating portrait of a contemporary noble-genius.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

a[Szpiro] turns the abstract mathematics of spheres into a lucid, lovely romantic odyssey.a
aSylvia Nasar, author of "A Beautiful Mind"
aA wonderful history of a great breakthrough.a
aBud Mishra, professor, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University

?

General Fields

  • : 9780452289642
  • : 9010000000000052857
  • : 9010000000000052857
  • : August 2008
  • : 195mm X 139mm X 17mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : George G Szpiro
  • : Paperback / softback
  • : 510.76
  • : 309