Da Capo Best Music Writing 2005 : The Year's Finest Writing on Rock, Hip-hop, Jazz, Pop, Country, and More

Author(s): J. T. LeRoy (ed.)


Another stellar collection of the year's best writing on music as selected by the acclaimed, elusive author of contemporary classics Sarah and The Heart Is Deceitful Above All Things, Da Capo Best Music Writing has become one of the most eagerly awaited annuals of them all. Celebrating the year in music writing by gathering a rich array of essays, missives, and musings on every style of music from rock to hip-hop to R&B to jazz to pop to blues and more, it is essential reading for anyone who loves great music and accomplished writing. Scribes of every imaginable sort - novelists, poets, journalists, musicians - are gathered to create a multi-voiced snapshot of the year in music writing that, like the music it illuminates, is every bit as thrilling as it is riveting. Past writers have included:
Elizabeth Mendez Berry
Ta-Nehisi Coates
Michael Corcoran
Robbie Fulks
Michaelangelo Matos
Alex Ross
Roni Sarig
Joel Selvin
Lynn Hirschberg
Chuck Klosterman
Elizabeth Gilbert
Jay McInerney
Elvis Costello
Susan Orlean
Jonathan Lethem
David Rakoff
Mike Doughty
Lorraine Ali
Greil Marcus
Richard Meltzer
Robert Gordon
Sarah Vowell
Nick Tosches
Anthony DeCurtis
William Gay
Whitney Balliett
Lester Bangs
Rosanne Cash
Eddie Dean
Selwyn Seyfu Hinds
Kate Sullivan
Alec Wilkinson
David Hadju
Lenny Kaye
The Onion
Mark Jacobson
Gary Giddins
John Leland
Luc Sante
Monica Kendrick
Kalefa Sanneh.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780306814464
  • : spubnz
  • : spubnz
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : J. T. LeRoy (ed.)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1105