The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (#1)

Author(s): Joan Aiken

Kids' Classics (fairy tales, poetry etc)

Even the wolves that surround the great house of Willoughby Chase are not as cruel and merciless as the evil Miss Slighcarp. So when Bonnie and Sylvia Green are left in her neglectful care, they must use all their wits to survive. The first title in the now classic "Willoughby Chase" saga is set in 1832 in a period of English history that never happened. King James III is on the throne and a newly opened Channel Tunnel gives access to packs of ravaging wolves...


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

This first novel in the classic Willoughby Chase series - which consists of eleven titles - was originally published in l962. Now being reissued in 2011 with a stunning new cover.

"A writer of wild humour." - "Oxford Companion to Children's Literature" - "From the Paperback edition."

Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924. She was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken; her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, is also a novelist. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave, was published in 1960. Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Amanda Craig, writing in The Times, said, 'She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew.' Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in l962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain. Joan Aiken was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books. She died in 2004.

General Fields

  • : 9780857550316
  • : Random House Children's Publishers UK
  • : Jonathan Cape Ltd
  • : August 2011
  • : 184mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Joan Aiken
  • : Hardback
  • : 823.914
  • : 240