The Vanishing

Author(s): Sophia Tobin

Fiction

'Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker, and you have The Vanishing ... as dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on. One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' StylistOn top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape...Already a Sunday Times bestselling author with her first novel, The Vanishing confirms Sophia Tobin as a rising star. Stunning, twisting historical fiction for fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier. `Undeniably page-turning' Mail on Sunday `Entertaining' Times `Vivid, absorbing and wonderfully gothic, with shades of Sarah Waters and Emily and Charlotte Bronte' Kate Riordan `Brilliantly Bronte-esque. Perfect reading for a stormy night' Anna Mazzola `A vivid sense of the period ... which stays with the reader long after the final page' the i `The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' Daily Express `Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' Daily Mail `Echoes Wuthering Heights with its setting and sense of intrigue' Red `An atmospheric tale of betrayal and revenge' woman&home `A thrilling, atmospheric page-turner' Metro

$23.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

`It compels the reader with the poignancy and drama so loved in the novels of Wilkie Collins. The beauty of the writing sings throughout. A splendid and accomplished literary page turner' -- Kate Mayfield 'I found it so compelling that I couldn't wait to go back to it and really wanted to read it curled up on the sofa by a roaring fire on a dark and stormy night. Definitely reminiscent of the Brontes - a cross between Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights' -- Susan Elliot Wright 'The Vanishing is a pitch perfect evocation of a classic nineteenth century Gothic novel which confirms Sophia Tobin as a writer of the highest calibre' -- William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier `An atmospheric historical novel that echoes Wuthering Heights with its Yorkshire Moors setting and sense of intrigue' * RED * `Tobin, an antiques specialist-turned-novelist, has created a vivid sense of the period she is writing about, which stays with the reader long after the final page' * the i * 'There is a Jane Eyre feel to The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin' * Good Housekeeping * `A thrilling atmospheric page-turner in which madness threatens to unhinge the protagonists' * Metro * `Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but 10 times darker, and you have The Vanishing...One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' * Stylist * `Tobin writes with brio and the narrative carries the reader briskly along. The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' * Daily Express * `Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' * Daily Mail * `Layer upon layer of increasingly fevered intrigue, and just when you think you can guess where this story is going, it takes a turn for the unexpected... undeniably page-turning' * Mail on Sunday * `The plot twists with admirable zest... Entertaining' * The Times *

Sophia Tobin worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. Inspired by research she made into a real life eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write The Silversmith's Wife which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize, judged by Sophie Hannah. She is currently Library Secretary for the Worshipful Company of Goldsmith's and lives in London with her husband. Find out more at https://sophiatobin.wordpress.com/

General Fields

  • : 9781471151620
  • : Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • : Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • : January 2018
  • : 198mm X 130mm X 24mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 400
  • : Sophia Tobin
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92