The Glass Woman

Author(s): Caroline Lea

Fiction

'Crackles with tension. Moving and atmospheric, I couldn't put it down' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions and The Corset

A rich and captivating tale of superstition and salvation, love and fear, for fans of The Binding, The Miniaturist and The Silent Companions.

1686, Iceland.

An isolated, windswept land haunted by witch trials and steeped in the ancient sagas . . .
____________

Betrothed unexpectedly to J n Eir ksson, R sa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkish lmur. Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders.

But R sa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not speak of it.

The villagers mistrust them both. Dark threats are whispered. There is an evil here - R sa can feel it. Is it her husband, the villagers - or the land itself?

Alone and far from home, R sa sees the darkness coming.

She fears she will be its next victim . . .
____________

LONGLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT CROWN AWARD

'A fantastic, atmospheric debut' The Times

'An enthralling tale of the Icelandic witch trials' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars

'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

'Evocative, compelling, with a brilliant twist' Daily Express

'Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should' Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall

'Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling' Daily Mail

$26.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781405934619
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : November 2019
  • : --- length: - '7.812' width: - '5.062' units: - Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Caroline Lea
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 464