The Book of Dreams

Author(s): Nina George

Fiction

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, comes a delightful, offbeat, charming and bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship. Henri is about to meet his teenage son, Sam, for the first time. But as Henri crosses Hammersmith Bridge, an accident happens. Sam reads about it in the newspaper - his father is a hero, now in a coma in hospital. So their first meeting takes place there, alongside the hospital's neurologist, whom the staff name God and is the first person to treat Sam as an equal in intelligence. And that's because Sam, due to a condition called synaesthesia, can sense things the doctors can't - he can see the colours of his father's thoughts and dreams, and many relationships build from this.  This beautiful novel is warm, wise, wry look at what love means. It's about fathers and sons, friendship and family, life, death and making peace with the past in order to find a future. Praise for Nina George's novels: 'This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie' - Red 'George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance' Mail on Sunday 'Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books' Daily Mail 'A true gem for fiction lovers' Good Housekeeping 'A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance' Saga 'A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment' Carole Matthews 'If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure' oprah.com  'An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read' Independent 

$35.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781471182976
  • : Simon & Schuster, Limited
  • : Simon & Schuster, Limited
  • : March 2019
  • : ---length:- '9.213'width:- '6.024'units:- Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 833.92
  • : 1 Fiction
  • : 400
  • : Nina George
  • : Paperback
  • : English