Author(s): William Boyd


It is 1939. Eva Delectorskaya is a beautiful 28-year-old Russian émigrée living in Paris. As war breaks out she is recruited for the British Secret Service by Lucas Romer, a mysterious Englishman, and under his tutelage she learns to become the perfect spy, to mask her emotions and trust no one, including those she loves most. Since the war, Eva has carefully rebuilt her life as a typically English wife and mother. But once a spy, always a spy. Now she must complete one final assignment, and this time Eva can't do it alone: she needs her daughter's help.


Available Stock:
On Order:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

For fans of Enigma by Robert Harris, Atonement by Ian McEwan and Spies by Michael Frayn Restless is the winner of the Best Novel category of the Costa Book Awards Winner of the Yorkshire Post's Book of the Year Fiction Prize Nominated for the 2008 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Shortlisted for British Book Awards: Best Read of the Year 2007 and Independent Booksellers' Book of the Year Award: Adults 2007.

'Boyd is English fiction's master storyteller ... Restless is that rare thing: a spy thriller from a first-rate narrative intelligence' - Independent on Sunday


'Fast moving, densely plotted, beautifully observed and probably one of the best things Boyd has done' - Esquire


'A good, rollicking read ... pulls you deep in to the obscure, forgotten intricacies of wartime espionage ... will keep you turning pages until the end' - Observer


'Heart-stoppingly exciting ... a riveting tale of wartime derring-do' - Time Out

William Boyd was born in 1952 in Accra, Ghana, and was brought up there and in Nigeria. He is the author of A Good Man in Africa, which won the Whitbread Literary Award for the Best First Novel in 1981 and a Somerset Maugham Award in 1982; On the Yankee Station (1982), a collection of short stories; An Ice-Cream War, which won the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize for 1982 and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize; Stars and Bars (1984); The New Confessions (1987); Brazzaville Beach, which won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for 1990 and for which William Boyd was awarded the McVitie's Prize for Scottish Writer of the Year; The Blue Afternoon, which won the 1993 Sunday Express Book of the Year Award; The Destiny of Nathalie X, a further collection of short stories, and Any Human Heart. William Boyd is married and lives in London.

General Fields

  • : 9780747586203
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : 0.5
  • : September 2009
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : William Boyd
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition
  • : en
  • : 813
  • : very good
  • : 325