English Fairy Tales and Legends

Author(s): Rosalind Kerven


A stunningly illustrated collection of 15 classic English tales, from "The Dragon Castle" to "Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow," retold by the great storyteller Rosalind Kerven. With 15 legends from across England, this beautiful collection provides an excellent introduction to traditional stories and their place in English oral and written heritage. They include tales of giants, dragons, fairies, princesses, knights, witches, and Arthurian romance, all linked with a specific English locale or county. Background notes provide information on their history and development, along with short summaries of related narratives.The stories include: "King Arthur and the Hideous Hag" (Cumbria), "Tom Tit Tot" (Suffolk), "The Dead Moon" (Lincolnshire), "Jack the Giant-Killer" (Cornwall), "Dragon Castle" (Northumberland), "Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow" (Nottinghamshire), "The Weardale Fairies" (County Durham), "The Devil's Bargain" (Lancashire), "The Princess and the Fool" (Kent), "The Seventh Swan" (Cambridgeshire), "The Knight of York" (Yorkshire), "The Wicked Witch" (London), "The Asrai" (Shropshire), "The Forbidden Forest" (Warwickshire), and "The King of England's Three Sons" (Gypsy).


Available Stock:
On Order:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781849945431
  • : Pavilion Books
  • : Batsford
  • : 0.49
  • : August 2019
  • : ---length:- '7.5'width:- '5.375'units:- Inches
  • : July 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Rosalind Kerven
  • : Hardback
  • : 1908
  • : English
  • : 398.20942
  • : 200