You're a Bad Man, Mr. Gum! (#1)

Author(s): Andy Stanton

Early Chapter Books

Shabba me whiskers! It's that bestselling and award-winning first ever Mr Gum book by Andy Stanton. The Mr Gum books are only the craziest, funniest most best books for children in the whole wide world. Good evening. Mr Gum is a complete horror who hates children, animals, fun and corn on the cob. This book's all about him. And an angry fairy who lives in his bathtub. And Jake the dog, and a little girl called Polly and an evil, stinky butcher all covered in guts. And there's heroes and sweets and adventures and Everything. It is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams. Have you collected all the well brilliant Mr Gum series? You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum; Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire; Mr Gum and the Goblins; Mr Gum and the Power Crystals; Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear; What's for Dinner, Mr Gum? Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree; and Mr Gum and the Secret Hideout. Praise for Mr Gum: "Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!" (Jeremy Strong). "Worryingly splendid." (Guardian). Not For Borders! Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children's writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a grape. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which are published in 34 countries worldwide in over 30 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children's Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

$20.00(NZD) RRP $19.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'My kids are reading the Mr Gum books. SO GREAT' - Lauren Laverne, BBC Radio 6 DJ, TV presenter, author and comedienne 'Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant! Andy Stanton is far too clever and funny and should be locked away in a very dark place that nobody can find' - Jeremy Strong, bestselling author of The-Hundred-A-Mile-An-Hour Dog 'They're properly funny, those books' - India Knight, bestselling author of My Life on a Plate 'Funny? You bet' - Guardian 'Andy Stanton accumulates silliness and jokes in an irresitible, laughter-inducing romp' - Sunday Times 'Raucous, revoltingly rambunctious and nose-snortingly funny' - Daily Mail 'It provoked long and painful belly laughs from my daughter who is eight' - Daily Telegraph 'As always, Stanton has a ball with dialogue, detail and devilish plot twists' - Scotsman 'They are fantastic...they are brilliant books for adults to read as well... I fully recommend them' - Zoe Ball live on BBC Radio 2 'A riotous read' - Sunday Express REVIEWS FOR THE VILLIAINOUSLY FUNNY MR GUM

Andy Stanton Andy Stanton lives in North London. He studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. He has been a stand-up comedian, a film script reader, a cartoonist, an NHS lackey and lots of other things. He has many interests, but best of all he likes Radio 4, books and music (even jazz). One day he'd like to live in New York or Berlin or one of those places because he's got fantasies of bohemia. His favourite expression is 'Good evening' and his favourite word is 'captain'.

General Fields

  • : 9781405274920
  • : Egmont UK Ltd
  • : Egmont Books Ltd
  • : June 2014
  • : 186mm X 133mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : December 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Andy Stanton
  • : Paperback
  • : NE
  • : David Tazzyman
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : 192
  • : illustrations