The Lady of Sorrows

Author(s): Anne Zouroudi

Crime/Thrillers

Hermes Diaktoros visits a remote island which is home to an ancient icon famed for its miraculous powers. But something about the Virgin troubles him, and Hermes calls on an old friend to confirm his suspicions that the icon is a fake. Ready to hand the matter over to the authorities, Hermes intends to leave - until the island's icon painter is found dead at sea. Did he die of natural causes or by a wrathful hand? What secret is a dishonest gypsy keeping? And what haunts the ancient catacombs beneath the bishop's house? In the fourth Mystery of the Greek Detective, the eccentric and mysterious investigator finds himself unravelling forgery, betrayal and superstition, and the consequences of all-consuming rage.

$19.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

With a strong and intriguing central character, Hermes Diaktoros the Greek Detective, these mysteries are set to capture a new legion of fans of cosy crime For fans of Agatha Christie, Alexander McCall Smith and Andrea Camilleri - and for anyone who loves the Greek islands The Messenger of Athens was WHSmith's Travel Read of the Week, longlisted for the Desmond Elliot prize and shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Breakthrough Authors

'Anne Zouroudi writes beautifully - her books have all the sparkle and light of the island landscapes in which she sets them. The Lady of Sorrows, her latest, is a gorgeous treat.' - Alexander McCall Smith PRAISE FOR THE MYSTERIES OF THE GREEK DETECTIVE 'A cracking plot, colourful local characters and descriptions of the hot, dry countryside so strong that you can almost see the heat haze and hear the cicadas - the perfect read to curl up with' - Guardian 'A horribly gripping tale of malice and misogyny' - Independent on Sunday 'Diaktoros is a delight. Half Poirot, half deus ex machina, but far more earth-bound than his first name suggests, the portly detective has an other-worldly, Marlowesque incorruptibility as he waddles through the mean olive groves' - Guardian

Anne Zouroudi was born in England and has lived in the Greek islands. Her attachment to Greece remains strong, and the country is the inspiration for much of her writing. She now lives in the Derbyshire Peak District with her son. She is the author of three other Mysteries of the Greek Detective: The Messenger of Athens (shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Breakthrough Authors and longlisted for the Desmond Elliot Prize), The Taint of Midas and The Doctor of Thessaly.

General Fields

  • : 9781408809853
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : January 2012
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 16mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Anne Zouroudi
  • : Paperback
  • : 112
  • : 823.92
  • : 256