The Zookeeper's Wife - FTI

Author(s): Diane Ackerman

Biography/Memoir

A New York Times Bestseller, 2008 Orion Book Award winner -- When Germany invaded Poland, Stuka bombers devastated Warsaw -- and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals dead, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski began smuggling Jews into empty cages. Another dozen "guests" hid inside the Zabinski's villa, emerging after dark for dinner, socializing, and, during rare moments of calm, piano concerts. Jan, active in the Polish resistance, kept ammunition buried in the elephant enclosure and stashed explosives in the animal hospital. Meanwhile, Antonina kept her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and its animal inhabitants -- otters, a badger, hyena pups, and lynxes.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
-1


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Postmistress.

I can't imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper's Wife will touch every nerve you have -- Jonathan Safran Foer, author of Everything is Illuminated Alternatingly funny, moving and terrifying. This powerful thriller would be a great novel - except that it happens to be true. -- Jared Diamond, author of Guns, Germs and Steel

Diane Ackerman is the acclaimed and bestselling writer of a number of non-fiction books about the natural world, including A Natural History of Sense.

General Fields

  • : 9780755365036
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : May 2013
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Diane Ackerman
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 940.53/18350943841
  • : General Adult
  • : 368