Dreadnaught - King of Afropunk

Author(s): D. H. Peligro


A no-holds-barred memoir of legendary Dead Kennedys and Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer D.H. Peligro, "Dreadnaught" chronicles Peligro from his pre-DK years growing up in a deprived St. Louis ghetto to San Francisco with Jello Biafra, East Bay Ray, and Klaus Flouride--from Los Angeles with the Chili Peppers through years of drug and alcohol abuse all over the world amidst a backdrop of some clearly defining periods of late twentieth century music history.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

D. H. Peligro is the longtime and current drummer for legendary San Francisco punk band Dead Kennedys. In 1988, he joined the Red Hot Chili Peppers, replacing Jack Irons, before being fired for drug and alcohol issues. He has released three albums with his band Peligro: "Peligro" (released in 1995 on Jello Biafra's Alternative Tentacles record label); "Welcome to America"; and "Sum of Our Surroundings," which wone Rock Album of the Year at the 2004 Ameican Independent Music Awards. He also recently recorded a cover of Jimi Hendrix's "Purple Haze," which was nominated for a Grammy Award. He lives in Los Angeles.
William Knoedelseder spent 12 years as a reporter at the "Los Angeles Times," where his groundbreaking coverage of the recording industry for the newspaper's financial section resulted in the critically acclaimed book "Stiffed: A True Story of MCA, the Music Business, and the Mafia."

General Fields

  • : 9780985490270
  • : Rare Bird Books
  • : Rare Bird Books
  • : June 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : D. H. Peligro
  • : Paperback
  • : 782.42166092
  • : 280